Viral Fund Raising for Planned Parenthood

My friend Ariel tipped me off to this completely amazing and brilliant e-mail campaign on behalf of Planned Parenthood.  First, I laughed.  A lot.  Then I kind of had some thoughts about how, maybe, it would be better if we all elevated the tone and is this really, really what the pro-choice community wants to do?  Now, though, I’m seriously back to loving this idea.  While I feel a little bad that Planned Parenthood will have to mail out all those cards and waste money on postage, I feel like it really will send an incredible message to the McCain-Palin campaign. I hope that this story gets some traction in the mainstream media– especially if it passes the half-a-million mark.

I’ll post the full text of the e-mail after the jump.

Hi guys,

A campaign is underway to show Sarah Palin what we think of her stance on reproductive rights: Instead of (in addition to?) people sending around emails about how abominable her positions are, they’ve been making donations to Planned Parenthood… in Sarah Palin’s name.

If you make a donation to PP in her name, they’ll send her a card telling her that the donation has been made in her honor.  If you’d like to join in, here’s the link to the Planned Parenthood website:
https://secure.ga0.org/02/pp10000_inhonor

You’ll need to fill in the address to let PP know where to send the “in Sarah Palin’s honor” card. I suggest you use the address for the McCain campaign headquarters, which is:
McCain for President
1235 S. Clark Street
1st Floor
Arlington, VA 22200

I just donated a little bit of money, and damn, did it feel good.  😉

Ttyl,
Ariel

PS Make sure you use that link above or choose the pulldown of Donate–Honorary or Memorial Donations, not the regular “Donate Online” option.

I haven’t been able to verify how much money this e-mail campaign has raised (estimates range from $100,000 to almost half-a-million).  Yeah, so I also just donated some cash and, I gotta say, damn it felt good.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2008 Election, Pro-Choice, Sarah Palin

Leave a Reply

