Air Quotes Around Women’s Health? Seriously?!

I’d like to give major props to Obama for his incredible answer to “the abortion question” in last night’s debate.  Nobody is pro-abortion and it is time that someone with Obama’s stature stood up to say it.  In case it wasn’t hugely clear to everyone, it is answers like this that get you a 100% rating from Planned Parenthood, NARAL, NOW, etc.

So, now that I’ve been so full of enthusiasm, lets turn to McCain’s response.  Listen, I understand that reasonable people will never agree on this issue.  But I take issue with how he says “quote, women’s health” as if we’re now putting women’s health in the same category as… oh… I don’t know, “irony” or “God”?  Are we as a country actually ready to admit that we don’t think “women’s health” is a viable concern?  This is another clear example of the anti-choice movement trying to coopt the language of responsibility and choice.

I only recently learned about so-called “trigger laws” which terrify me and convinced me that the last thing women need is an anti-choice president.  Linda Hirshman’s OpEd on these laws is worth quoting at length:

But it’s not 1972. The climate then was one of growing sympathy for women seeking abortion, triggered in part by stories of those who sought one after realizing that their children would be deformed by the anti-morning-sickness drug thalidomide. Social liberalism was rising; religions weren’t much engaged in politics. Today, the politics of abortion have changed. In addition to old laws that would spring back up should Roe be reversed, the nonpartisan Guttmacher Institute lists four states — Louisiana, Mississippi, North and South Dakota — as having trigger laws explicitly aimed at making abortion criminal upon Roe’ s demise, and seven others that have committed to acting to the extent that the court may allow.

I’m sorry, I wanted to write more… about how he uses the phrase “pro-abortion,” how he assumes families can’t make decisions, ABOUT CHANGING THE F*CKING CULTURE OF AMERICA, but I get too wound up.  Trust me, it’s better if I keep things to myself (and point you to women far more eloquent that me) because I’ll just get overly punchy and that wont do anybody any good– certainly wont elevate the discourse.

1 Comment

Filed under 2008 Election, Discourse, Pro-Choice

One response to “Air Quotes Around Women’s Health? Seriously?!

  1. Ariel

    Yeah, I’ve been waiting through all of these debates for that discussion and hearing it (along with Obama’s personal responsibility discussion around education) made me invigorated to vote for Obama again, as opposed to just okay with the idea.

    I mean, to say that you wouldn’t vet judicial candidates, that you are a constitutionalist and that’s how you would choose a supreme court official, but then to continue on to say that you were pretty certain that any candidate who fit those qualification wouldn’t be for Roe verses Wade is pretty bleak. Especially when you go on in the next question to talk about a national approach to education, which, frankly is pretty darn federalist. Someone who says abortion decisions should be state decisions and then suggests that education should be a national decision isn’t really speaking from a firm constitutionalist approach in my view.

Leave a Reply

